Developing a DB from two different computers

This topic is 3381 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have FMP 13 installed on my MacPro desktop at work, and on my MacBook Pro laptop at home. BTW, I'm very new to FMP.

I have started developing a DB at work on the MacPro and thought I'd store it online via "Copy" (similar to DropBox) so that I could access it at home as well. Am I going to have problems with this?

The reason I ask, is that the other day I made a change to the layout of a table at home, but when I got to work it the change wasn't there. Before I go further, I'd like to make sure that this will work.

Mike G

Mike,

You wrote...

"and thought I'd store it online via "Copy" (similar to DropBox)"

So I assumed that you were familiar with DropBox.

I would also use the same caution when opening a file for development that exists on a remote (cloud) volume as damage risks are present.

I would say that using cloud storage to transfer a file from machine to machine should be safe.

+1 to Wims suggestion to use FMS

I also have Dropbox, so somewhat familiar, but didn't grasp the syncing reference. I assumed that storing a file on DropBox/Copy was the same as storing it on HD. That I could open it, edit it, and sAve it with the ability to do so on various computers, like I do with a word-processing document in iCloud (using Pages).

I also have Dropbox, so somewhat familiar, but didn't grasp the syncing reference. I assumed that storing a file on DropBox/Copy was the same as storing it on HD. That I could open it, edit it, and sAve it with the ability to do so on various computers, like I do with a word-processing document in iCloud (using Pages).