Charting Data Points over Multiple Years in a Line Graph

James Gill

This topic is 3347 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm pretty new to using Charts in Filemaker Pro, but I stumbled across the excellent article over at Skeleton Key about how to use ExecuteSQL to create forecasting charts in Filemaker Pro.  One of the charts that really caught my eye was the seasonal index projection over time, because it mapped plots of data over multiple years into a line graph with the months contain on the x-axis.  After reading through the walk-through and downloading the demo file, I was disappointed to find that they were hardcoding the years of the projection into the y-axis of the chart, which is where I hit a limitation in using the native graphing built into Filemaker.

Basically, I want the X-axis to contain the month names (easy to do) and my y-axis to contain the summarized yearly data for each month within my found.  Is there any way, either natively or via 3rd party tool, to dynamically add to the Y-axis or am I forced to have a set number of Y-axis's on my chart?

To my understanding, each line is represented by a “data series”, and these series need to be hardcoded. So I don't think you can add series dynamically using the native chart tool (but would like to be proven wrong).

On the other hand, you could add as many series as will possibly be required; if the data for a series is empty, nothing will be drawn. (Clunky, but works; and I think that after a certain number of series, the chart wouldn't be decipherable anymore.)

Is there any way, either natively or via 3rd party tool, to dynamically add to the Y-axis

A Web Viewer and one of the many jQuery plugins should be able to do just that.