Tips for a Trademark Tracking Solution?

This topic is 2852 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I’m relatively new to Filemaker and developing a solution to track trademarks.  I’m deciding how to structure the data, and would really appreciate any pointers.

The abstract data structure is this.  There are owners.  Each owner can have many trademarks.  Each trademark can have many registrations.  Each registration can have many events, many of which involve deadlines.  Some events are initiated by the owner, others by a government entity, others by third parties.  Some events may be superseded partly or entirely by later events, such as when an application is amended.

The purpose of the solution is to track the registrations, their status, and their pending tasks or deadlines.

Right now I have tables for owners, trademarks, registrations, and events in successive one-to-many relationships.

What I have to decide is where to put the data and how to report it.  In principle, it seems that the logical way is to have most of the data in the events table because a registration is simply a collection of events.  But if that’s the way to go, how do you reconstruct the registration as it currently stands?  That is, how do you identify and show the latest or current data from the transactions table?  The other alternative is to have most of the data on the registrations table, but then this would involve a lot of duplication.

I know this is all rather abstract, but if anyone can give me some pointers about what the best-practice approach to this sort of thing is, I would appreciate it!

Hi Dova, welcome to FM Forums.