Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Extending a flat database to a related ditto

Kurt Hansen

This topic is 3188 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a flat database of classical CDs, which are a part of our inventory. It includes a field "Composer(s)", where the content are written in free form.

I would like to make an extension with a composer database and create a relation between the two, so I can look up composers and see what CDs we have with them, and vice versa: look up a CD and see what composers are acting on it. Our composer field is not complete. If more than 3-4 composers, the text are written just "a.o." or "and others".

I have no experience with relationships, so it must be simple and explained step by step.

I have found this thread http://fmforums.com/forums/topic/50942-portal-grouping-problem/#comment-239210 and downloaded "Consultants" JoinDemo.fp7. It is just so simple so I should be able to figure out how to customize it, but how do I (as a user) create a new contact and a new organization and create a relationship (affiliation)?

I'm still using FM 11 Pro Advanced ;-)

I am not sure what exactly your question is. If you're asking how to migrate your data to a relational setup, I don't think we have enough information to answer that. A lot depends on what "free form"" means. If it's something that can be manipulated into a return-separated list of names, then you might have a starting point. Another issue is how different the names of the same composer are between the various compositions. And of course, a computer cannot replace "and others" with the actual names.

With regard to the demo: you create a new contact by creating a new record in the Contacts table. Likewise for a new organization. To create an affiliation, there are three possible ways:

1. Select an OrganizationID using the dropdown menu in the first empty portal row on the Contacts layout;