Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Multi-part composite serial number for items

This topic is 3164 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Greetings! This is my first post on the forum, and I'm also new to FM.

I have a situation where I have a few ideas, but I was hoping to get better advice and direction from others more experienced with this at the start.

Preface:
The numbering scheme in use may be crazy, but it is established. I am seeking the better way(s) to handle what's in place.

Situation:
I have an ITEM table, and the items have a unique identifier key which are part of a serial number. A LOG table records each time that one of the items is used. This "serial number" is kept on the item's logsheet.

Example:
In August of 2014 an item with the ID 46 is used. The serial number would be something like (without underscores): 46_14_08_3456.

The next time that item is used, let's say February of 2015, the serial number would be 46_15_02_3457.

So the last part is a number which is auto-incremented, but each item has a different (it's own) sequence.

Considerations:
1) Do away with the single LOG table and create a table based on each item and populate a field using auto-incrementing serial each time it is used. Use another field in this table to store the composite number.

This seems like it would be the easiest, but it would have a lot of overhead with extra tables. There are only about 15 different items for now... this number *might* increase once every 3-5 years at most if ever.

2) Use a field in the product's table to keep the sequence number that was last used for that item and a script for incrementing. Then the composite number could be calculated and stored in the LOG table.

3) Get better ideas, articles, etc. from more experienced users...

Conclusions:
I'm leaning towards option two for now...

Thanks, GG

Edited by Gabriel G
Removed the fixed line breaks