Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Force update auto enter calculation

This topic is 1654 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello FmForums!

Newbie here. It's been about 6 months of learning filemaker - I've been using forums, Youtube and good ol' Google for my learning. However, I am now scratching my head and can't find a solution. So, I am making my first post 😅.

My issue: I have many records in the database and now I need to create another field. This field will calculate a product's selling price using the case formula as a pricing table. However I want the field to be an auto enter calc so I can change the field manually after if needed. The calculation uses a couple of existing fields, which have already been entered for every record in the database.

How do I force an auto enter calc for this new field? I will to also have to checked so it does not recalculate.

Why did I not have this field in the db earlier? To be honest, I had no idea of how to create a pricing table and I recently found the solution which I thought I can just add later. Also, if anyone can share of a better way to create a pricing table, I would love to hear it.

Regards,

Edward (a desperate newbie)

An auto-enter calc does not update unless any of the fields it relies on change. So if you add an auto-enter calc afterwards, it doesn't do anything for existing records. To update the auto-enter calc field you have to change one of the fields. You can do this via a script or menu by using the "replace field contents" and replacing it with its own value. That way the auto-enter calc is triggered.

This may take a while if you have lots of records. Also note that if you have a related field in your auto-enter calc that the auto-enter calc will not update when the related field changes. It only works if fields in the table that the auto-enter calc resides in change (unless you change the relationship to the related field).