QuickBooks ExternalGUID format?

This topic is 1477 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to working with the Productive Computing QuickBooks Connector.  I'm trying to add a ItemNonInventoryAdd item.  It appears that when pushing this item to QuickBooks from FileMaker (18) an ExternalGUID field is required.  Current records in QuickBooks,  created in QuickBooks this field is empty.  The field fails validation and gives me the following message:

SEVERITY: failed validation
Reason:    '123456789abc' violates pattern constraint of '0|(\{[0-9a-fA-F]{8}(\-([0-9a-fA-F]{4})){3}\-[0-9a-fA-F]{12}\})'.

Parsing regular expressions is not my strong suit.  I have tried a number of different values for this field.  Using 0 worked once.  Using it a second time gave the error of the value being in use.

Can someone show me a few examples of what an externalGUID should look like?   I did try using the FileMaker Record UUID,  and this produced the same error.

Greatly appreciate help with this.

Hi Bruce,

I have found a bit of information about the ExternalGUID. I will include some sample code for reference as to how to create this ID and a link to a site which will benefit you in the future when working with QuicksBooks!

An example on how to receive a unique GUID is below:

IQBGUIDType

- val is a globally unique identifier that you generate using GUIDGEN.EXE, 
a tool that comes with Microsoft Visual Studio. A GUIDTYPE value takes the 
form {XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX}, where X is a hexadecimal digit. 
For example: {6B063959-81B0-4622-85D6-F548C8CCB517}. Note that GUIDTYPE 
values are not case-sensitive, meaning that if you enter a GUIDTYPE value 
with lower-case letters, the value will be saved and returned with upper-case 
letters. 

Click this link for some more info https://developer-static.intuit.com/qbsdk-current/common/newosr/index.html

Thanks,

PCIPal