Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Tracking edits to track progress - Beginner

This topic is 1498 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hey all,

I am relatively new to using FMP and really have just picked it up so I can add features that help me do my job to my organizations existing system. With time to work from home I've been playing around with a system to help stream line case management. The system includes a needs assessment which details current information (ie. employment status, linkage, transportation, etc). I built this for utility so my team can share and store the most up to date information on each case. Sent my completed system to the person who manages our FMP and he asked that I find a way to store previous iterations of each field so we can show progress or change over time. I have spoke with him several time to try to get a grip on how to accomplish this but it just makes my head spin. 

The assessment is extensive, so it's really not practical to generate and fill out a new record each time. I was thinking maybe duplicating the record, but even then I unsure how and where that will be recorded. Do I need a new database?

I don't have a background in any of this, I've just got a lot of time on my hands, so please forgive me if my terminology isn't always correct. I have some basic familiarity with setting up relationships and writing scripts, but I feel like I'm over my head on this one. Any assistance or guidance would be welcome.