Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Question about consolidating two FileMaker 12 servers down to one

O365 Admin

This topic is 1516 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am an IT professional who has no experience supporting FileMaker, so I could use some sound advice. I have been tasked with taking on the following situation: 

We currently have FileMaker Server 12 installed on two different servers with user databases from different departments on each. One is Windows Server 2012 (which is fine for now), and the other is Windows Server 2008 which is of course out of support from Microsoft.

I realize a best case scenario would be to do an upgrade to the latest version of FileMaker for both, but that would be a more complex effort that would also involve upgrading the FileMaker desktop clients (which we have on both PCs and Macs).

In the interests of being able to retire the Windows 2008 box as soon as possible, would it be feasible for us to increase the storage on the 2012 server to the appropriate level and then migrate all the databases over to that server?

If that approach could work then what would be the high-level steps, and what involvement and impact would there be to the user community in such a migration? I am starting from square zero, knowing nothing about FileMaker so apologies if this idea is not possible or advisable!

The fact that FM 12 has been EOL since September 2016, I would strongly recommend upgrading to latest platform.

This also assumes you're on a perpetual license (you own it) for your users and still have access to the license key and full installers?

If the company has been paying their Annual maintenance each year they may already have access to the latest versions which you could upgrade them to. Upgrading both mac and windows users is fairly simple ( unless you have to do it remotely )