Import Data into a child table and use same UUID as the parent

This topic is 1167 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I am creating a database with a simple set up; one table called shots (parent) related to another table called scans (child).

I have created a portal in the shots (parent) table with a scripted button called 'create new scan record' that when pressed, creates a new record in the scans table attached to the same UUID from the shots table. This works well and links records from both tables.

The problem I have is, I need to import a lot of data via a TabD into the scans table - probably a hundred records at a time that need to share the same UUIDs as the table records so they are linked and I'm not sure how to do it.

Is there a script I can use to achieve this? Can I import data from the TabD straight into the Scans portal which is in the Shots table?

I'm a FM newbie so any insight will be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Michael

Hi there,

There are multiple shots that have already been created and the single scan import will contain multiple records some of which will need to relate to just one shot

TabD is tab delimited file

Thanks so much for you help!

16 minutes ago, Mike_FM said:

the single scan import will contain multiple records some of which will need to relate to just one shot

This is just getting more confusing: what does "some of which" mean? If only "some" need to be related to a shot, what about the others? And how can they be told apart?

the single scan import will contain multiple records some of which will need to relate to just one shot

The scan import will create multiple records in the scans table; each scan record needs to relate to a corresponding shot record in the shots table. There will also be multiple scan records that will relate to just one shot record

ie 1 scan record links to shot 0010 but 5 scan records that link to shot 20

The shots and scans are told apart by their names

eg