Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Repeating fields

This topic is 7925 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I am a newbie to FileMaker Pro, using the 5.0 version.

As far as I can understand it is advisable not to use repeating fields.

Why does the FilMker pro 5.0 template Purchase Orders use them?

I am trying to create a simple orderform, the repeated fields seems to work fine in the file as such except for when I am trying to perform searches and creating reports.

I have got three files. one product file ( with product ID), one Client file ( with Client ID) and one Order file (with OrderID)

Ideally, I would like the portal Ihave set up in the Client file to correctly display total productID with description for all the items purchased by a particular Client.

I would also like to create simple reports that list all items purchased in total, monthly yearly et.c.

My problem in creating the report is that (probably due to the repeating fields) is that it wont list the items in the repeating fields. The report calculates fine, the sums are right but I need it to display all the info.

Is there a way around this? I have been reading the FM manual backwards to front ...

There must be a really simple solution to this problem that I am unable to see.....

Is the FileMaker Pro 5.0 Bible good reading material ?

I would be extremely grateful if someone could help me!

Emma

The use of repeating fields v. related fields needs to be considered on the characteristics of the problem in hand. There is a very strong push towards related fields for many good reasons, but repeating fields still have their place.

The "Purchase Order" form you discuss has probably been evolved from a time when related fields did not exist. I also have a "Purchasing" file for my company which is based on repeating fields - 'coz that's how it was made before FMP3. My longer term strategy is to convert to related fields for the following reasons: