Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Need help with Charting

blissland

I've been using FileMaker for over 20 years, but up until today had never tried making a chart with it.  

I'm tracking the dates that students inquire about my school and would like to make a line chart that shows total per month for each year.  I have the date field, a month(date) field, and a year field.  There are a few hundred records.  It's clear that I need to do something else to get this to work but I'm not sure what it is.  Do I need to create 12 global fields that count the number of records for each month?  If so, is that what I would put on the y axis?  Do I need to add something to the relationship graph?      

3 hours ago, blissland said:

make a line chart that shows total per month for each year

By "total" I assume you actually mean "count".  But what exactly does "per month for each year" mean? Do you want to show a single line showing a data point for each month, year after year - or do you want to compare the years, so that there are only 12 data points and a separate line for each year?

If it's the latter, you will face a difficulty using the FM built-in chart: it requires you to pre-define the series you want to show. IOW, you can only compare say the last 3 years. If you want to show a series for each year, without placing a limit, then you will need to use a different charting tool.

• Like 1

yes, by total i mean count.    I would like to have months on the x axis, counts on the y axis, and different lines for each year.  I might settle for summarizing across all years.  Sounds like the year by year idea is not doable with FM, so that's very helpful to know that I should stop banging my head on this.  

2 minutes ago, blissland said:

Sounds like the year by year idea is not doable with FM