Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Purchase order design

This topic is 7901 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a self-taught FM developer. As such, there are some aspects for which I have a fairly sophisticated knowledgef by now, but other very basic aspects which elude me. I have a company running on an old DOS inventory system. I am gradually replacing its various modules with FM versions, working with daily ascii imports.

I am now designing a purchase order module (Mac, FM Dev 5.5). I'm pretty confident about scripting, calculations, the need for concatenated ID fields & etc. But the overall design aspect escapes me. This is ther best I've come up with:

I have three dbs (FM versions of the DOS system's dumps)B)

Item file

PO Headers file

PO Line Items file

To create a new PO, I have set it up so a PO worksheet is created in the Item file. When our buyer makes her selections, by filling in an order quantity field on the worksheet layout, then she triggers a script that does these things:

Makes a found set of just the ordered items (qty >0)

Opens PO Headers file & runs external script that:

finds the current highest PO number, adds one & stores result in a global. Then the script copies this new number and:

Opens Item file (where found set remains) and runs external script that:

pastes empty PO field in all records of found set with new PO number (loop?), which should be on clipboard. Then it opens PO Line Items and runs external script that:

Imports select fields from found set in Items, creating the PO Line Items records. It does some other stuff to fill PO Line Items fields not present in Item records. Then it has a script step of "Go to record/request First", where it copies the contents of unique ID field, then runs a find on this field. This will leave a found set of one. Then it opens the PO Headers file and runs an external script that: