Renaming and moving a folder after a FM import

This topic is 7772 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'd like to write an Applescript to move a folder after Fm runs a certain script.

Basically, every morning we import our orders that have been batched from our online estore database into our orders, customers and lineitems databases. What I would want the applescript to do is then copy the folder to our server and name it the current date.

Is this something relatively simple? I have no Applescripting experience.

The syntax should be something like...

set dateString to date string of (current date)

Tell app "Finder"

move folder oldFolderPath to folder FolderDestinationPath

set name of the result to dateString

end tell

If the newFolderDestination is on the same volume, the Finder will move it. But if is on a different volume, the the Finder will duplicate the folder to the new location and the old folder will remain. The Finder works with object reference which are different then the aliases used within applescripts. Stick to using the path as a text string and you will avoid some pitfalls.

Try this script to get started...

set dateString to date string of (current date)

set oldFolderAlias to choose folder with prompt "Select folder to move"

set FolderDestinationAlias to choose folder with prompt "Select Destination for folder"

set oldFolderPath to oldFolderAlias as string

set FolderDestinationPath to FolderDestinationAlias as string

tell application "Finder"

move folder oldFolderPath to folder FolderDestinationPath

end tell

[Just using the AppleScript aliases works, but it has been my experience that it does not work as reliably as using the file paths. I am wondering if my practice is this is a hold-over from buggy earlier AS versions. Anybody know?]]

Ok, this looks good. I'm starting to see how it works.