Server Maintenance This Week. ×

'Pre/Post-amble'able mag-stripe reader?

This topic is 7821 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Does anyone have any experience with a magnetic stripe reader that will handle a pre and post-amble (ie: Command-1)? I've come across one that can send one character before the card data, and one character before the track data (i'm reading only 1 track (#2), so i think it'll work...) with a similar setup for post-card/track. I wanted to check to see if anyone had any experience with this, as I am still VERY new to the barcoding/mag-stripe reading world....

any advice?

Here are the POS manufacturers (that I know about) that make mag stripe readers, and what I know about them:

HHP (hand held products) - I don't even think they make a USB product

Id Tech - I know this works with Mac and I know you cannot program a "Command" preamble at all. You need a PC if you want to program other preambles/postambles

Logic Control - haven't looked

MagTech - with the USB keyboard emulation model, my understanding is that you can request the factory to preprogram a single ascii character as a preamble/postamble... there are other USB products which do not emulate the keyboard... I don't really understand those.

Unitech - haven't looked

My thought is that it is best to use an RS232 model and use the Troi Plugin... I believe the Troi plugin can detect incoming data and activate a subscript (maybe someone else can explain?)

I would look a while for a wedge version before I took the jump to a serial version. Unless you are very familiar with serial interfaces and/or have used serial plug-ins before, you may have trouble. If you need "someone else to explain" this probably isn't the approach to take without professional assistance.

-bd

wow... thanks for pointing that out!