Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Accessing FM file on remote location

Stormin

This topic is 7488 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi,

I'm new to FM Pro having just purchased it. My business partner has a copy of the Mac version 6 and I have the Windows version 6. We want to share a common database with one another that we can both access and update from our separate locations. We both have broadband and we also have a domain that is hosted.

I understand that you can use the remote hosting feature, but what we want is to be able to access the file independently. We won't be using the file at the sametime.

I've placed the fp5 file on our ftp site and made sure the permissions are set properly.

I created a Network Neighborhood location for our FTP site that allows me to use it as a remote drive. When I open the file using Filemaker Pro I get a really quick text message that says the file is read only and that I will not be able to make changes to it. The file then loads and I can access the database and make changes but I am unable to save the file back to the remote location.

It is not a firewall issue as I have tried this approach without the firewall software running and the file is still read only. I called Filemaker Tech Support and they don't have a solution as they say it is designed for remote hosting or web publishing only. There has to be a way to make this work.

Can someone steer me in the right direction and let me know what the best option(s) are for us? Thanks very much.

Cheers,

Carl

We have done this sort of thing on our ethernet LAN and have not had any problems with the files being saved in a "read only" state. This approach works fine as long as the two users do not try to access the files at the same time. If they do the user that opened the file first becomes a "host" and the other user becomes a "guest". Simultaneous access to hosted files won't work unless you do one of these things: