Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FM Server on OS X, network terminals on OS 9/9.2

This topic is 6940 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have just had to update our server to OS X, but as yet all our terminals are running OS 9 or 9.2. I can get FM server running in OS X but it doesn't actually seem to be hosting any databases, when I try to open one on one of the terminals it says that that terminal will be hosting it.

So I tried to run FMServer through Classic, but it just gets as far as 'loading TCP/IP' and then it says that these have 'failed to load'. Is there an incompatibility between having FM Server running through OS X and everything else on OS 9 and/or how can I get FM Server to run through Classic?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am fairly new to both Macs and FM, so am really unsure as to what I've got wrong.

Thanks,

Asher

hi,

there's a bunch of things that could be going wrong...

just run fm server in os x natively.

check the preferences (in fm) of the filemaker pro clients on the os 9 machine. they should be using the tcp/ip network protocol.

with that done, on a filemaker pro client, go to file, and open remote. hopefully your server and the files that are on the server will be listed.

if you can't see anything, maybe you haven't allowed filemaker traffic on the os x machine. disable the firewall, or open port 5003, you can do this in the system preferences.

it should work now.

if it doesn't, check the events.log in the filemaker server folder for clues. it should say if it had any problems opening the files.

cheers,

jd.

Another thing to look at is that FMServer in OSX doesn't automatically open databases below the first directory level, meaning that if you've got your files inside a folder in the FM Server folder, they open, but if you've got them in a second folder within that first folder, they don't open. Frankly, it's another disappointing thing about Server on X that just bugs me...

-Stanley