What would YOU do?

RampantFM

This topic is 7282 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I may have a unique situation but I'd like some objective advice.

The long and the short of it is this:

a) I'm a small-sized developer.

??? I created a database solution that works well in meeting a niche need for a sales process in the construction industry.

c) I have a local client who has been using it for 4 years successfully, without complaint.

d) This client represents lines for a LARGE international manufacturer of construction products.

e) This manufacturer has been searching for a similar solution it can implement for ALL of its Reps across its various product lines and divisions

f) They are VERY interested in MY product (thought I am bidding against a competitor)

g) BUT, they have already said they want to PURCHASE the solution outright and have it implemented to work through the web for consistent user access and management monitoring capabilities.

h) This deal is potentially worth (at least) many tens of thousands of dollars, if not a hundred or more!

i) I'm a small-sized developer

Get the dilemma?

The competitor I have apparently has already agreed to do the project for them and sell the program outright to the corporation. This is oral information from the VP of IT for the corporation - I frankly have no reason to disbelieve, but still. He said they do not want an annual license kind of arrangement, etc.

But, I really have no precise clue how to approach this so that I don't undersell my product nor overshoot their budget for the project.

Is it too much to ask for some advice on this scenario?

MEGA thanks in advance!