using relationships/portals for auto enter

mike72

This topic is 7361 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all - I've been searching around this and a few other sites and although there are some good tips and techniques here - I am still having a problem creating the following:

I have a main database that has blank fields: town, county, state, country. In a second database I have filled in fields: town, county, state, country. In this second db there is only one instance of each town, but many towns in counties, etc. I want to type the name of the town in the main database and have the county, state, country automatically pop up in the corresponding fields. I know this is possible but I have been trying with no success...the closest I got was returned with an error message "The field cannot be modified until....". (p.s. if it isn't blindingly obvious already that I am a complete novice - please reply with step by step instructions!) thanks in advance,

mike

Hi Mike,

Many states have towns with the same name. How do you forsee FileMaker knowing which county, state, and country to pick? A better solution would be to enter the zip code, which no two towns share, and have that be the lookup key. You'll need a zip code database that contains all the cities, states, towns, counties that correspond to each zip. Have a look here: http://www.zipwise.com/

Hi John