a way to find who attends often and who doesn't

This topic is 7360 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello

I am new to filemaker but i have to make a database with it. I am interested in making a file that will keep track of people who attend our classes ( they are free) and I am trying to figure out how to locate the people who don't come for 4 weeks. There are like 400 possible people but most don't come. That's where I am having the problem.

I am staring at 4 fields. "eventDate" , "name" , "attending" "30days" - People who have attended once but are not there for 30 days. How can I track those people? Please suggest to me. I am all ears. Thanks

Cindy

Hi,

There are millions of ways to have this list displayed, depending on what exactly you're looking for.

Is it that you're looking for people whose gap from one event to another is greater than 4 weeks, or only those that disn't attend since Today-4 weeks.

It's also hard to guess and tell what to do from the fields you mentionned though.

I need help with this .... PLEASE

Sorry Ugo , I just got home. I am looking for people who have attended in the past but now have a greater than 4 week absence. That is what I am somehow trying to flag.

Thanks

I am not sure the best way to go about doing this. I usually end up with over the top solutions and you guys usually point out something a whole lot easier.

Thanks again

I recently did something like this. First, you need 2 files, 1 for the people, one for the attendance. This is basic relational design. If you only have 1 file, you could sort by person, then export the result summarized by person (ask).

The problem in Attendance is that you are trying to Find "not attended," which you can't really. But you can find attended. So do a date range find for who has attended.