Change printer

This topic is 7330 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I am trying to create a webpage that calls a print script that I guess uses the change printer plugin. I want a user to be able to choose what network printer they want to print from. I tried to configure the change printer plugin and played around with the scripts but I have had no luck. I am really new to FM and trying to learn it. Can anyone help?

Thanks,

Version: v5.x

Platform: Windows 2000

Yup thats it. So they would have a drop down box to choose a printer and then there would be a print button that prints it to the chosen printer as well as adding the record to the database. Is the print thing possible?

I know that sometime last year the database admin here had it working for a while but there were too many problems with it so he dump the idea. Now since he no longer works here, I'm on my own trying to figure this out.

Thanks,

Jaser

It may be possible but I wouldn't implement any system that lets users send print jobs to a web server (or any other server).

What happens if there is an error, even a simple one like the printer runs out of paper? The whole thing could be held up while the system waits for somebody to click OK to an alert. Print jobs could queue until the disk fills up, bringing down the whole system.

A disgruntled employee could work their way through reams of paper and toner in a few hours with a few clicks of their mouse, bringing the system to its knees in the process.

There are some serious issues regarding running scripts through the web interface, due mostly to FMP 6 being single-threaded. It has been discussed here ad-infinitum without any definitive conclusions being made. Some believe there is a serious problems, others that it's not serious; but most agree that scripts over the web is a last-resort process, not a first choice. Use them only if there is no other way to do it.