Can I use FM to build photo/profile database?

This topic is 7331 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a complete novice when it comes to this program. I'm considering purchasing it based on a favorable review given it by Cnet.com. The review lauds it's ease of use for novice and experienced alike.

My question is this: Can I use Filemaker Pro 7.0 to build a website integrated photo/profile database similar to those found on "web personals" sites (Match.com; Oneandonly.com; etc.)?

It would have to be password accessible by members for editing of their personal information. It would have to automatically format a members photo/profile for display on the website with thumbnail pics upon their completed registration. It would, of course, have to be searchable by keyword and other criteria.

As I said, I'm only familiar with this software to the extent of the review on Cnet. Please excuse my ignorance of web development terms. Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

Regards,

Mimart

Version: v7.x

Platform: Windows XP

MikeRest.JPG

What you are discussing is more of a web project, which could make use of any number of databases. However with Filemaker 7, you might be able to make use of the new Instant Web Publishing engine to get yourself a pretty good site up and running quickly and easily.

In the long run, it will all depend upon your web skills.

• Newbies

Kurt,

Thanks for the reply...and the good information. I had originally planned to have my website professionally built, because of the perceived difficulty of building and integrating a database. I also wanted to have a message board feature on the site.