Server Maintenance This Week. ×

newbie que:how big should my data field tables be?

nancyc

This topic is 7329 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

ok this is my first attempt at a real database, and all my books are about five and six so its sort of frustrating to try to figure out 7...any help would be appeciated. here's the prob: we have clients, they serve families of subclients themselves, we need to track each kid in each family for times being served, times vary depending on day of week and days may vary by kid even within families, eligibilty starts and may end at differetn dates for each kid, we need to track kids times and days of eligibility and start and end dates, and link it to the original clients info to produce a monthly report updating each kid's status, dynamic things like the kid aging out of the program will affect eligibilty as well as stuff like the family moving away. this is just one small part of the database. we need to also track all kinds of info about the primary clients who serve the kids, like thier eligibility to be in the program too, and their rates of reimbursement for services they provide to the kids, which can vary by kid and by month based on factors like where they live (which can also change) and income levels of the kids being served. my question is, how big should i make my tables, i am using paper forms we currently have to identify and create appropriate fields of data we want to use and am getting info entered on an excel spreadsheet, preparatory to uploading it into the filemaker database. as we enter the data i realize i have to add more fields as information varies even more than i thought it would as far as answers to the questions we ask people. so at this point i have like four datafiles i've desigend, one with 275 fields, one with about 100, on with about 50 and one with 2. I'm sort of proud of the 2 field one i think it represents my understanding how a file can relate better, but my rea