opening network folders from buttons... on macs..

This topic is 7236 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

We have a cross platform database (FileMaker rules!) but I develop mainly on a PC - use a Mac for checking our solution.

I've been using Macs quite a bit for a couple of years but I've no idea when it comes to AppleScript or AppleEvents.

At the moment I have several buttons on the front page to our solution that act as shortcuts to shared folders on our network. Being a PC developer I've only managed to get these to work on PCs. All our PC users use these buttons for quick access to the shared network folders.

The way I've got it set up on the PCs is by using the 'Send Message' script step.

It sends the 'open document/application message'

And the message text it sends is the windows path to the shared folder. I think it's the UNC path but I'm not sure.

One of the PC network paths is "sharedimagesshow photographyINTERMOT 2004"

That script step is assigned to a button which on a PC instantly fires up that shared folder.

My question is...

Is there a way to get a similar effect on Macs?

Script a FileMaker button to launch a network folder window?

Our mac users have some aliases to some of the network shares on their desktop so we can assume that the network shares are already mounted on their systems by the time they start up FileMaker

Our Mac users are using FileMaker 5.5 on OSX Panther

Any ideas?

Thanks

The Open URL script step works for this, no AppleScript required. The Mac path would be...

file:///shared:images:show photography:INTERMOT 2004:

You can double-check this by putting a jpg or html file on the server and dragging it to a Safari window. You'll then see the path in the address bar.

PS: If you do want to try AppleScript, I think this will work:

tell application "Finder"

activate

open folder "shared:images:show photography:INTERMOT 2004:"

end tell

Hi mate...