loop script to limit addresses in BCC field

julesw

This topic is 7153 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hi all,

i am very new to using filemaker to email, so please bear with me.

i understand how to create a script that will generate an email with the right addresses in the BCC field.

but we have been advised that spam detectors may block messages sent to over a certain number of addresses. (don't worry, we don't want to send spam!)

i want to create a script that has a loop in it that can keep track of the number of email addresses, sends an email when it gets to the first, say 100 addresses, then go back into the loop at the next record and keeps going till it gets to the next 100. obviously it must then know to extract only the second 100 addresses, not include the first 100 as well. this is the bit that i dont have a clue how to do.

[note: each record has 3 email address fields, which may or may not be filled in, so the record number will not correspond to the count of email addresses field]

any suggestions most appreciated!

The solution given below is based on your note that every record can have 3 email addresses which may or may not be filled in and if all the three addresses are present then there will be total three address in the bcc field.

Declare a global variable gBccEmailCount(To hold the count upto 100, return type would be number), and gBccEmailAddresses (return type would be text).

Try the script below.

gBccEmailCount=0

gBccEmailAddresses=""

go to record/request [first]

loop

if (trim(field1:emailaddress)<>"")

if trim(gBccEmailAddresses)="" then

gBccEmailAddresses = gBccEmailAddresses

else

gBccEmailAddresses = gBccEmailAddresses & ";" & field1:emailaddress

endif

gBccEmailCount = gBccEmailCount + 1

perform script("Checking BccCount and Sending Mail");

end if

if (trim(field2:emailaddress)<>"")

else

gBccEmailAddresses = gBccEmailAddresses & ";" & field2:emailaddress

endif

end if