looping counting limiting script thingy

This topic is 8059 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

So I'm new to FMP scripting, and am stumped. Here's my problem: we have a file that holds numerous fields of our products, and we print them out on brochures. The layout is fine if I want to print 4 or 6 items on a page, but when I want to print 5, then I have problems. Specifically, it works if there are 5 fields or less, but if there are 6 or more, all of them print on my brochure. I want to write some sort of script and/or calculation which can count the number of fields and only display the first 5. Have tried variations of If statements with (Count[item] > Int (5), Choose (from Logical functions), Status(CurrentLayoutCount, CurrentLayoutRecord, or CurrentLayoutNumber) as well as those options for CurrentRecordCount, etc. Have tried Sums, and Loops. Can't figure out how to do it, and also can't find anywhere in the "Specify Calculation" section about how to put in a loop of any kind, so am cutting n pasting from the help file & trying to modify that. I'm sure the solution is simple, but I can't see it...

Here are my script scraps:

//non-working

If ( Count (item_broc_item) > Int (5)

item_broc_item = 5)

End If

//non-working

Status ( CurrentFoundCount ) > Int(5)

//non-working

Int (item_itemszs) = (Count(item_itemszs) + 1)

Loop Until

Count (item_itemszs) >= 5

End Loop

//non-working

Count(item_itemszs) =

Int (item_itemszs) = (Count(item_itemszs) + 1)

Count(item_itemszs) =

Loop Until

Count (item_itemszs) >= 5

End Loop

//non-working

Set Field ("item_counter", "1"]

Loop

Set Field ["item_counter", "item_counter+ 1"]

Exit Loop If ["item_counter >= 5"]

End Loop

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jonathan

It may be that all you need is to go to Layout mode, double-click on the part label, and specify "page break after every x occurrences."