Emailing

sonrise

This topic is 7087 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

We email our clients daily, and I am looking to create a script to enable me to send an email to our clients.

I don't know how to create this script. When I go to layout and make a button I tell it to performa script but there is no script to send mail.

I'm a beginner at Fma nd have been thrown into it. Can anyone help?

Sonrise:

There's no script to send mail because you haven't written it yet. First, you'll have to have an email address field in your record - I'll call it "t_email_address". Next, go to the Scripts pull-down menu and select "ScriptMaker..." Then, type in "Send Mail" into the text box (the cursor should already be there) and click the "Create" button. What comes next is up to you, but the central function is to send an email, so I'll skip any trickery for now & just get the script to send an email. Clear whatever is in the right hand side of the scriptmaker window (usually about six commands appear as defaults.) Then, in the left hand list, scroll all the way to the bottom, and under Miscellaneous, you'll see "Send Mail" - double-click on this, and it moves to the right. Now double-click on it in the right, and a dialog box comes up.

You can set it to send the body of a field as body, send it to an address which is a field, etc... I think it's fairly self-explanatory. When you've set these to the things you want, click "OK" (or whatever it is) and get back to where you want to put the button. Now you can define it to run your "Send Mail" script.

The first time you run it, it might ask you for your email client, and other stuff like that, but you'll be off and running in no time.

-Stanley

ok, here's another question i figured out what it did it sent the potential email to my drafts folder in entourage.