Wondering if FM 7 is right for me...

This topic is 7110 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi - This is my first post here. I am very new to this and purchased FM Pro 7 on a recommendation from a friend / business associate. So, I am wondering if this is what I need to do what I want. I know that FM is very powerful, but please read what I HOPE to do...

I am mainly a studio engineer / musician by trade. I supplement my income by doing CD artwork / layouts. These are my only sources of income. I am getting fairly busy as of this year and am seeking better ways to organize my info. What I would like to do is create a database in FM 7 that allows me to have three main sections and several nested sections. The three main sections would be audio (for recording clients), graphic (for artwork/layout clients) and personal (for friends and family). Under audio and graphics sections, I would like to have contacts (which I have already began), invoices (that I hope to create and file in FM) and calenders. I suppose calender should be another main part. I am hoping to be able to add a client to the contacts, create a button that will in turn create an invoice for that client. But I will need more than one invoice per client (I get lots of repeat business) and maybe a preview of listed filed invoices and maybe a preview that will extract that client from my calender and show me my next "booking:" with that client. There's more that I can't even think of at the moment.

At the present, I have an iMac G5 for book keeping and I am using Excel (invoices), iCal (calender), Address Book (contacts) and Stickies (for reminders). This results in alot of open programs and open / saved files... more than I like to have.

Will FM Pro 7 be the solution I am looking for?

Thanks for your time.

Eric Klinger