Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Field calculation

This topic is 8478 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello all -

Another question. I have a layout setup the following way... 3 fields. field 1 is a price, field 2 is a sale price, field 3 is a % off the original price.

What I would like to have happen is - a user enters a price in field 1, then if the user enters a sale price in field 2, the percent is automatically calculated and entered in field 3. On the other hand, if the user enters a percent in field 3, the sale price is automatically calculated and entered in field 2.

I am stuck here because I seem to be able to only have it work in one direction. In order to make it work one of the fields needs to be result, which then makes it uneditable. I am sure there must be a way to do this but I am really new at this and would appreciate any help anyone can give me. smile.gif

Thanks in advance

-John

quote:

Originally posted by jfountain:

Hello all -

Another question. I have a layout setup the following way... 3 fields. field 1 is a price, field 2 is a sale price, field 3 is a % off the original price.

What I would like to have happen is - a user enters a price in field 1, then if the user enters a sale price in field 2, the percent is automatically calculated and entered in field 3. On the other hand, if the user enters a percent in field 3, the sale price is automatically calculated and entered in field 2.

I am stuck here because I seem to be able to only have it work in one direction./B]

You need more fields.

Price_data

Sales Price_data

Percentage_calc

Percentage_data

Sales Price_calc

Percentage_calc = IF ( IsEmpty(Percentage_data), Sales Price_data/Price_data, Percentage_data)

Sales Price_calc = IF ( not IsEmpty(Percentage_data), Price_data * Percentage_data, Sales Price_data)