Index Page or Table of Contents

original

This topic is 5396 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm a beginner. I've looked everywhere and can't find how to do this, and it seems simple.

I'm basically just trying to create a table of contents what will display the page number of the records. For example, I have several names with information.. maybe like 100 pages worth of information. I am just trying to create a table of contents at the beginning of this page, where it shows me the record/name and what page number it's at.

How do I do this? I'm very new, so please explain easily!!! thank you soooo much!

Original:

Welcome to the Forums.

This should be pretty easy to do, but first a question: do you mean you've got about 100 different records, each of which is a page, or 1 record that's 100 pages, or something in-between?

If you've got 100 different records, you can make a layout that's a list (go to Layout-> new layout and follow the directions), and start from there. Let us know your answer, and we'll get you on your way.

-Stanley

So basically there are like 400 records and when printed out, it turns out to be 100 different pages. I just want an index page at the beginning where I can print out and have a hard copy so I can look at the title and see what page its on and then go to it.

I have dones the list layout, but it doesn't do the page number function im looking for. thanks!

Original:

Ooh, multiple records per page. Slightly tricky.

First, you may not know, but you can put the text "##" (no quotes, just the two number signs) on a layout, and when printed it will print the page number there for you. However, this is just printing data, and cannot be used in scripting.