Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Upgrading FMP 5 to FMP 7

This topic is 7016 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello all

I'm a newbie to FMP and have taken on the task of performing the above mentioned upgrade. Could you please help me with some possibly silly questions?

Currently, we are using FMP 5 on a mixture of XP and Win 2K PCs. One of the Win 2K PCs is hosting the database files over our client/server network.

1. On this PC the LDAC plug-in was installed, when I upgrade/convert to v7 how will I get this plug-in back?

2. Is it possible to run both the v5 and v7 databases simultaneously? Is so how is it done? I tried searcing for licensing restrictions on filemaker.com but couldn't find any relevant information.

3. We want to use the container field to store links to other applications and open them from this area, is this possible and will it be necessary to set-up an ODBC? If an ODBC is needed will I need to set it up on all the client machines or just the host?

4. There are 2 methods of hosting files is there any major advantages of using one over the other? We currently use the TCP/IP network option.

5. Where can I find out about the changes to script syntax?

Many thanks in advance for any help that you provide.

I'm on a Mac so my answers might not be entirely correct on the PC platform....

>>1. On this PC the LDAC plug-in was installed, when I upgrade/convert to v7 how will I get this plug-in back?

The Mac version doesn't come with a LDAC plug-in anymore. It does come with several ODBC drivers. The help pages state:

FileMaker Pro includes ODBC client drivers for the following data sources:

Text (Windows and Mac OS)

Oracle 9i Release 2 (Windows and Mac OS)

SQL Server 2000 (Mac OS)

FileMaker Pro 7 (Windows)

Additionally, Windows includes ODBC client drivers, such as SQL Server driver, with the operating system.