From FileMaker to the Web

This topic is 6975 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,

Hi there,

Total newbie here. Will probably be asking more than answering on this Forum section smile.gif

A general question as a start.

How exactly FileMaker can interact with PHP based Intranet and Internet Sites ?

- uploading documents (mainly pdfs from printed FM reports) to the Intranet.

- synchronization of a PHP db

Can these tasks be automated from FileMaker 7 ? Is FileMaker able to generate PHP requests ? At least is it possible to fill a "form" directly from FileMaker ?

Thanks

Hi,

You may want to check out FX.php. There are two great places to learn more about FX.php www.iviking.org Chris Hansen's site. He create a PHP class that works with FileMaker Pro 5-7, or www.fxforge.net FX.php software that writes PHP code for you.

FX.php is PHP class that interprets the XML output from FileMaker and allows access through a set of pre-defined functions. Once the PHP is processed it generates HTML to the users browser.

Yes, you can upload images, PDF's basically just about any type of file with PHP. There is also a PHP class that works specifically with PDF's.

In Kindness

Ok thanks,

Let me tell you more then about my specific needs, as I feel the above, if useful, doesn't really meet what I had in mind.

The solution I'm currently developing is a fully customized Project Management solution, involving numerous projects, partners, participants, documents and events, for a European Sponsored Program.

It is a complete rewrite of an old FileMaker 4 solution they've been using for the daily follow up of each project, but that obviously now appears to be limited.

For now 2 years, they've been deploying an Intranet solution so that participants could exchange documents, reports and data within each project, as well as a Web site for the communication side of the Program.