Newbies jmchenry Posted August 3, 2001 Newbies Posted August 3, 2001 Is there a way that I can make a calculation global? What I am trying to do is this ... probably quite simple. I have total number of rooms available as a global, locked field. The secretary is going to enter in the number of rooms the user bought into the used rooms (not global) field. I want the calculation (total - used) to be global, so she can see how many rooms are left. Is there a way to make calculations global? Thanks in advance, Jake
Kurt Knippel Posted August 3, 2001 Posted August 3, 2001 You cannot make it Global, but by using global fields, the calc will be unstored and will not take up space in the database and will be updated everytime the data is actually needed. Essentially accomplishing the same thing.
Newbies jmchenry Posted August 3, 2001 Author Newbies Posted August 3, 2001 Ok, is there a way in each record for the calculated result to be shown, sort of as a rolling total? I know this can sort of be done by making the field a summary field, but I need it to subtract, not add the entries in the total and used fields. Is there a way for me to accomplish this? Thanks, Jake
LiveOak Posted August 3, 2001 Posted August 3, 2001 OK, as an example, assume the following fields: gTotalRooms (global, number) UsedRoom (number) iOne (calculation, number, indexed) = 1 Create a self relationship with iOne matching iOne and call it "Self by iOne". Then create a calculation field: RoomsRemaining (calculation, number) = gTotalRooms - Sum(Self by iOne::UsedRoom) This field will be the rooms remaining (if I understand your file structure). It will take the total across all records of "UsedRoom" (doesn't matter if records are part of the found set or not) and subtract them from the total number of rooms stored in a global. -bd
Newbies jmchenry Posted August 3, 2001 Author Newbies Posted August 3, 2001 Ok, when I try to make the remaining available total field as a calculation, it says it can't find that field. I made the relationship that iOne points to iOne. When I have sum(iOne::Rooms Left), it says it can't find that field. I tried a comma instead of the ::, but that didn't work, gave me the same problem. Thanks for the help, maybe I did something wrong. Thanks, Jake
Recommended Posts
This topic is 8584 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now