Server Maintenance This Week. ×

how do I email...grrr

LauraLu

This topic is 4686 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello there. I am new to FileMaker and I was wondering if anyone knows how to send out a mass email. I am basically computer illiterate so lots of detail would be greatly appreciated. My boss would like me to email our clients with all of their contact information so it can be updated. We are using outlook express. Please help!

Take a look at the "Send Mail" script step. It is fairly self explanatory. You probably want to have an "address book" table with a new record for each individual on your mailing list. One field should be the email address of the recipients. In the Send Mail script step specify which field has the addresses in it and specify that you want to send mail to all of the addresses in the found set. Paste your email text into the message box. Alternatively you can reference a global text field, or text in a related record.

Before sending mail perform a find to access the names that you want to mail to. Then run your script. There are a lot more options, obviously, so you can modify things quite a bit.

Howdy, L! I agree w/mfero... ScriptMaker's SEND MAIL is what you want and it will work with your computer's default mail application (you may want to have it open and running when you launch the script).

Now, it looks like you want to customize the message, though, right? I'd suggest making a calculation field to compose your custom message... something like

mailbodyfield =

"Dear " & firstname & ":" & (Pmark Pmark) & "Please verify the following contact information: " & (Pmark Pmark) & firstname & " " & lastname & (Pmark) & phonenumber