Set field Question

This topic is 6944 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello Everyone,

I'm sorry if this is an easy problem. I'm pretty new to scripts, but o.k. with FM in general. I looked through alot of the old posts but still couldn't figure out how to make it work for my situation, or just didn't understand.

Setup - I am trying to develop a database for my company that can create pieces for assembly. Each piece is unique but many pieces may combine to make a bigger item.

Table1=Piece Builder

Table2=Burning Details

Table3=Sawing Details

Table4=Purchase Details

The tables are relational through field "Piece Number"

I want our engineer to start with "Piece Builder." Be able to find a job # from another order entry table(not important here) such as Job #1001, then assign a Piece # like 1001-1, then push a button to go to one of the three tables, as order requires, and auto-enter the same Piece # from "Piece Builder" table. From there he can enter what needs to be done to each piece. I have been able to write a script to open other table and create a new record(pretty easy) but cannot figure out how to auto-enter piece number. Have been trying to use SetField[] command but can't seem to get it to work.

Please Help!

Hi abomb,

it would work if you would have two seperate fields in the piece-table and a claculation:

On the builder table:

Field: kP_BuilderID - auto enter serial number

Relation: kP_BuilderID -< kF_BuilderID in piece table

(allow creation of records)

Portal with piece table fields.

On the piece table:

Fields:

piecenumber - auto enter serial number

kF_BuilderID - auto-entered when entering pieces in builderportal

builderpiece - calculation: builderlink & "-" & piecenumber

Actionfield - what needs to be done

Any help?

reg. Hartger

Hey Herrix,