FM Webschool's FM Printer Select Plug In

This topic is 6849 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I can't get this darn plug in to do anything!

I desperately need a plug in that will allow me to script in different printers as well as printing to acrobat distiller w/ no user input. I found FM Webschool's plug in and was excited that this would solve my problems. However I have been unable to get it to work and have had no luck with FM Webschool's tech support.

I know that there are other plugins available but I already paid for this one. Please help.

I am a novice FM programmer and I know nothing about using Plug ins. Here’s where I am at this point.

This is the startup script that I copied from the demo file, unfortunately I don’t really understand what this means, I’m just following instructions:

Set Field [Receiving::gFMVersion; Get(ApplicationVersion)]

Set Field [Receiving::nn, If (LeftWords(Get (ApplicationVersion);1)=”Developer”; “700”; “70”)]

Set Field [Receiving::gPluginVersion; External (“prn-Version”; “1”)]

Set Field [Receiving::gErrorCode; External (“prn-SetFMVersion”; Receiving::nn)]

The way I understand things is that as long as I call this startup script before attempting to switch printers it should work with a simple script line. Here is a script I wrote to print to a network printer:

Perform Scrpt [“Startup”]

Set Field [Receiving::gPrinter; External (“prn-SetFMDefaultPrinter”; “JoeBrother HL-1440 series”)]

Print [No dialog]

I have tried different formats for defining the printer I want to use – “JoeBrother HL 1440 series” and “Brother HL 1440 series on Joe”.