Server Maintenance This Week. ×

First Use of Custom Menus

SteveB

This topic is 6812 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I started playing with Filemaker's Menu Control, and so far as I can tell, it has a major default: It adds to the first menu that you create for the current file 2 entries...an Exit and a Help entry. The Exit stupidly causes FM to close, and I haven't found a way around this. That means a user could leave a solution inadventently, or in mid-task (say before validation). Stupid, genuinely stupid.

I don't think that is a default action. I just created a menu set in a sample file which I defined to contain only the standard scripts menu. When I set it it showed me the scripts menu (together with the tools menu)and there were no exit and help items.

Start with a new Menu Set, and I think you'll find that they've added 'Exit' to the first menu when you run it. Since it doesn't show up when you're defining the Menu Set, it would require a hack to remove it (both illegal and difficult).

Steve

You're kidding!?!?! I should've known better than to get my hopes up...

Just tried it for the first time, and I was able to make a menu without Help, but not so for Exit. What a drag. I wonder if you can still disable it with a plugin?

Wondering about the motive behind this, maybe FMI was afraid that too many developers would forget to include an Exit option. I also wonder if that would have made the Quit ("x") button inoperable ... if so, that could have been a problem. However, I would prefer they give us that control and trust us to design correctly, rather than making the decision for us.

Well, since we need an Exit option anyhow, maybe we just have to write an appropriate On-Exit script?

Someone once said, quite wisely, that FM developers are people who are used to creating workarounds.