Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Trouble creating multiple relationships.

cstotts

This topic is 8641 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello everyone.

I'm having trouble creating what I think is a many to many relationship. I'm new to this, so don't chew me out too bad! What I have is 2 seperate files. File 1 has basic information on applicants to this program, and file 2 has follow up dates and relevant information for this program.

What I need this DB to do is to have the ability to have many different applicants, and each of those applicants have multiple follow-up dates. If I'm not mistaken, this is a many to many relationship, and I don't have a clue as to how to do it.

What I've been trying to do is relate the Applicant # field in file 1 to the Applicant # field in file 2, and the follow-up date field in file 1 to the follow-up date field in file 2. I need to have the ability to go back and look at the old follow up dates, and what I get now, is that when I enter a new follow up date, it just overwrites the date and stores it in file 2. I repeat that I have multiple applicants that have multiple follow-up dates.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Chris Stotts

ps. feel free to e-mail me about this at:

[email protected]

quote:

Originally posted by cstotts:

Hello everyone.

I'm having trouble creating what I think is a many to many relationship. I'm new to this, so don't chew me out too bad! What I have is 2 seperate files. File 1 has basic information on applicants to this program, and file 2 has follow up dates and relevant information for this program.

What I need this DB to do is to have the ability to have many different applicants, and each of those applicants have multiple follow-up dates. If I'm not mistaken, this is a many to many relationship, and I don't have a clue as to how to do it.