Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help with Calculation for Cost of Goods Tax Inventory

This topic is 6624 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Omigod--this is so hard to explain in words...but I'm desperate to get my taxes figured out.

I'm trying to find my total inventory cost of goods for business taxes (in report form - FMPro Version 6). For tax purposes, it's either 1/3 or 1/5 the total retail cost--I'm not allowed to use the full retail cost.

I've got columns set up for:

-The selling price of each item.

-1/3 the selling price of each item (calculation)

-1/5 the selling price of each item (calculation)

I need to be able to select either 1/3 cost or 1/5 cost of for each product so that I can later combine them to equal the Grand Total Cost of Goods Summary.

As long as my 1/3 & 1/5 columns are calculations, I can't figure out how to fill in one or the other column--it's automatically filling in both.

Note: I'm a beginner type "dummy" so can anyone explain step-by-step how I can put in an either/or/choose type calculation to do this:

Allow me to select whether I want to use the 1/3 total cost or the 1/5 total cost calculation to reach my grand total.

Here's what I'm trying to do in example format:

One Amethyst pendant retails for $30

1/3 cost of goods is $10.00

1/5 cost of goods is $5.00.

This pendant time & material was high, so I want to select the $10.00

Another Amethyst is also $30 retail but it went fast and I used silver. I want to be fair and select the 1/5 cost of goods--$6.00 to make it.

How can I set up my report to allow me to select only one total or the other, not both?

Failing that, can anyone explain how I can import the entire file to Excel so that it shows up in the column format? If I can get it into Excel, I will be able to manually delete either the 1/3 or 1/5 caculation for every line item and then easily get the totals at the bottom of the sheet.

Help greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Amy