Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Newbie Question: Static, Unrelated Data Lookup

This topic is 6613 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to Filemaker Pro, and if this is an old issue or posted in the wrong forum, I'm sorry - I've tried searching the forum but perhaps I don't have the right vocabulary for what I want to do.

I need to provide a database with access to certain static reference data that is unrelated to any given record. Globals are not an option here, at least as far as I understand them.

To be specific, I am creating a database to track classified ads in the publication I work for. This is currently done in the ancient DOS database Q&A. Our publication comes out every two weeks. Under normal circumstances that means each volume will have 26 issues - but since the year has 52 weeks and 1.25 days, occasionally we'll add a 27th to keep the "Issue 1" of each volume from slipping through the year.

So, I want to be able to query a table with a particular volume number, and get back how many issues are planned for that volume. If I use globals, I'll have to keep adding fields to the database as the years go by, and that just doesn't seem right. Back in ancient Q&A, there was a simple look-up table attached to each database for such information. How do I get a similar result in FileMaker Pro 8?

How about creating a separate issue table that is linked to your volume table, then use count(issue::IssueID) function in a calc?

Alternatively, you could write a calc that would automatically give you how many issues for a given year, but you will probably want a separate record for each issue anyway...

hth

-Raz

• Newbies

How about creating a separate issue table that is linked to your volume table, then use count(issue::IssueID) function in a calc?