Exit Script - unexpected behaviour?

This topic is 6565 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've been programming FMP for 10 years but I never used the "exit script" until recently.

My solution had to permit a script to pause but still allow the script to be invoked again from the same button as I am validating the content of the field and the fields on the layout. In order to stop unnecessary recursions of the script I tried an "exit script" if I already had a record of the script running (held in a global).

The peculiar behaviour was that if the script had, at any point, been exited then the script that was paused would also terminate as soon as it was resumed, thereby failing to perform the validations.

I expected FMP to handle the scripts almost as a stack of tasks to be executed on resumption, and that the "exit script" was pertinent to the current instance of this script, not all those that have the same name.

All this is in FMP6, so it may not be the same in 7/8, but I hope it is. The help system is a little vague

"Forces sub-scripts or external scripts to stop immediately and return to main script."

and this does not explicitly state that it will "kill" all other occurrences of the same named script when they resume.

My workaround is not to use "exit script", and continue, as I have for the last 10 years, to let all my scripts execute to completion.

Hope this makes sense to some of you.

Situations like you describe are typically handled with a looping script. Place all of the steps you want to repeat within the script, including the Pause/Resume Script. Use the Exit Loop If step to determine if the fields are "validated". If they are, you exit the script. Otherwise, you loop again.

You can even have a button on the layout with the single step Resume Script attached to resume the paused script. Here is an example of a script that I wrote yesterday for a client. I've paired it down to just the looping portion of the script.