valuelists: ID + Description

mlt

This topic is 8101 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi all,

i'm very new to filemaker & cdml and i have a q:

how to use a valuelist with two values ID and Description, show the description but store the ID? ... it should be sooo simple, but i cant make it work frown.gif

thanks in advance

I think this is what you want...

Create a separate file ("ValueLists.fp5") with two fields, "ID" and "Description".

In the main file, create a value list that is the contents of the "Description" field in ValueLists.

Create a relationship between the field in the main file and the "Description" field in ValueLists.

Create a calc field in the main file that returns the related "ID" -- or, if the information in the ValueLists file is edited occasionally, make it a text field that auto-enters the related "ID". You don't have to put that field on any layout, but the info will be there.

HTH,

Dan

• Newbies

quote:

Originally posted by danjacoby:

I think this is what you want...

HTH,

Dan

nopes, what i need is to select a client showing the name but storing the ID

on filemaker works great, but on the web it shows only IDs (not descriptions) by using this code:

<select name="ClienteID">

<OPTION VALUE="">- Seleccionar Cliente -

[FMP-valuelist:ClienteID,list=SeleccionarClientes]

<OPTION VALUE="[FMP-valuelistitem]">[FMPvaluelistitem]

[/FMP-valuelist]

</select>

the valuelist is defined using ClienteID and CliNombre as second field.

i'd like to get access to each field of the valuelist separately

thanks

mlt