Color coding calc field according to result

Zerosum

This topic is 6515 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Is it possible to vary the color of the text value of a calculation field according to what the calculation returns?

I have constructed a database of commodity price movements. One field "Direction" returns "up" or "down". Is there some way to color "up" blue and "down" red? Of course if "up" and "down" had their own fields, I could easily do this in Layout, but that's not what I want. I also have various calculation fields returning the ANSI character ▲ or ▼. I would like to color code these as well.

It might be possible to accomplish this using container fields. However I understand that it is not possible to perform searches, or further calculations using the contents of container fields, so that rules them out.

Please note that I am new to FMP. I have managed to compose all the necessary calculation functions, but formatting problems are less intuitive. I notice a similar question from "The Dog", but I don't understand the answers.

One suggestion involves "stacking" one field on another. How does one do that? This is not necessary in FMP 8?

Another suggests setting up the calculation not as a calculation field but as a text field and choosing "auto-calc with replace." I am using FMP 8, but I can find no "with replace" option in the Define Database, text field set-up options window. Whenever I enter a calculation in a Text field Auto Enter/Calculated Value window, no values are generated in the desired field. What gives?

Any advise will be appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Zerosum,

Your auto-enter (Replace) means that, in the Auto-Enter tab - right below Calculated Value checkbox is another checkbox which says 'Do Not Replace Existing Value for Field.' This must be UNCHECKED for the results to happen the moment changes to the data happens.