Is this to big a job? Need a hand...

This topic is 6499 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to FMP8. My dad showed me the amazing potential of it and now i am hooked. Essentially this is my problem. I run an Australian Rules football dreamteam competition for myself and 15 other friends.

If you are not familiar with the dreamteam concept - basically each player at the start of the year picks their team in a 'draft' then each week you play each other and your team scores points based on the playres you picked statistics for carious things. In this comp my dad has written me a database to basically import the stats from the statisitc site on the web (via importing into a excel sheet then importing into the database).Also each player emails me their team each week and i manually import their 8 players and the position that they want them to play in (out of the 16 they originally picked). I then manually change this in the database.

LONG WINDED! Essentially i would like to set it up on the web so that the contestants can change their own team each week, without me inputting it. I don't really understand the IWP as it doesnt appear to work when i try and set an ip address as i have broadband and have a static address. I am sure I ahve more explaing to do and i am happy to make avialable any answers or in fact email the database i ahve so far ...its only about 1mb.

many thanks for even reading this much

Rob

South Australia

Persist with IWP.

Basically IWP presents the end user with a FileMaker style layout in a conventional web browser. There is very little detail about why IWP doesn't work in your posting, but I suspect this is fairly simple configuration.

Mostly people forget to turn on IWP PROPERLY as the default state of FMP files is unshared. Even when you turn on IWP, you must also then specify the users that may access the file(s).