Multiple simialir layouts design. Please help

HPage

This topic is 6529 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi, im new to using Filemaker. I was wondering if there is a way to make a master layout? I know I can duplicate layouts, but say I have a set of standard buttons that appear on every layout in the same place, and I want to add or change a button, I have to create (or copy and paste) them everytime. Copy and pasting them is ok, but getting them in exactly the same place everytime takes a lot of time (unless there is a easy way I dont know of yet). Is there at least away to get them on exactly the same posistion as on the other layouts? Help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

The solution I have used is to create template layouts that have the common interface elements on it, and then copy those layouts when I want to create a new one. This is not ideal (for example, what happens when you decide to change your look or general layout? LOTS of manual changes), but it is better than nothing.

I have about 4 or 5 template layouts for several different types of screen--a list display, a full display, a couple of informational displays, and a message display.

HTH,

David

getting them in exactly the same place everytime takes a lot of time (unless there is a easy way I dont know of yet).

The easy way would be using the T-squares (funny that the previous poster hadn't mentioned those... : ).

See also Help > Editing objects on layouts > Using tools to precisely position objects.

Edited by Guest

What helps me tremendously is always using View > Object Size (on px). Then just Edit > Select All, Copy and, before doing anything else, make note of the top two numbers. Then go to your new layout and paste anywhere. Before de-selecting, change the top number (then tab or enter) then change the next (and tab or enter). The entire selected set will position exactly as it was on the last layout. Object Size is under-used I think. :wink2: