Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

Need Help - "Search Center Database"

UtahViper

This topic is 6548 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello All, First off I am new at doing any of this. I volunteer with a group called U-Search. What we do is set up, organize, and run search centers for missing kids in Utah. The goup is in need of a good database system to help operations. I have started looking at filemaker 8.5 and it seems it will do what I need. First let me describe the basics that we need in the database.

1. Volunteer Registration: Tracks all volunteer Information. Name, Address, Phone Numbers, Skills, Picture, Status, Duties. Volunteers come in 2 basic types, Staff and Searchers.

2. Search Planning: Database of search information. Search Maps, Address, Search types, Notes, Map ID. Some of this will be Pre-Planned, Most planning will be dynamic and on-site.

3. Dispatch, Incident Command: Current status of Volunteers and Searches. Assign available volunteers to specific search. Create a team Roster for each search. Print roster and search information. Record and report statistics on searches, volunteers and operations.

The first two I have the basic idea of how to do, I have created small example of each but still need assistence. The third part is where I am most lost. I know that we need to relate the Vollunteer and Planning together. I am not completely sure how to do this. I would like to know if there are any systems already made that may complete these functions. I would like any advice, Ideas, or other help in getting this system ready to run. U-Search is a Non-Profit and the core staff are all Volunteers, Including myself. I hope to get a system ready just in case there is another kidnapped or missing child in Utah that needs to be found and brought home. You help is greatly apreciated.

Damon

U-Search, Operations

Edited by Guest