Server Maintenance This Week. ×

ERP using FileMaker

hho

This topic is 6423 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi All,

Just a simple question:

Does anybody have implement the full ERP project by utilizing FileMaker? If so, what function it is and how is the degree of complexity?

I really appreciate for your feedback.

HHo

hho,

What type of business are you in? ERP is such a wide open term that it could cover a dentist's operations or that of an automobile manufacturer. Obviously a dentist and a car builder have widely different needs.

Genx,

My background is in manufacturing so I know these terms from that perspective but some of them apply to other industries as well.

Here is the lot of three letter acronyms:

ERP (Enterprise Requirements Planning)

The is the generic name for core information system that a business runs on. Covers finance, procurement, sales, service, planning, etc. It is supposed to cover the entire "enterprise" but often lacks payroll, HR, pre-sales effort, etc. Like a lake it tends to have deeper functionality in the middle and is shallower at the edges.

MRP (Manufacturing Resources Planning)

It is really the same thing as ERP. The term MRP has been around longer and apparently someone gave a new name to the same-old-pig so the term "ERP" largely replaced MRP but I haven't found and discernable differences myself.

mrp (lowercase) = Material Requirements Planning