Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Creating multiple records at the same time

This topic is 6334 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I've been using Filemaker for only a few months now and I've run up against a snag on my database. I work in a chemistry lab and I need to keep track of our inventory. The way my database is set up is with 3 main tables: Chemical Info, Ordering Info, and Inventory Info.

I have linked these three tables by a common field "Inventory#". I've set up a layout with tabs and portals so that you can view all of the information about a certain chemical on one layout.

My problem comes with adding new chemicals to the list. Usually one would enter a new chemical into the database from the table "Chemical Info." This assigns the chemical a serialized "Inventory#". Then I have to go to the "Ordering Info" table and create a new record and manually enter in the "Inventory#" and the chemical name. Then I have to do this again for the Inventory Info table.

Does anyone know how to set up the database so that when someone enters a new chemical in the Chemical Info table that it will automatically make a new record with the assigned Inventory# and name of the chemical in the other two tables?

Thanks so much

js22

Then I have to go to the "Ordering Info" table and create a new record and manually enter in the "Inventory#" and the chemical name.

No only the Inventory#, the other info is brought in by the linking ...it ought only to be stored in one unique spot.

However does this thread provide most of the answers:

http://fmforums.com/forum/showtopic.php?tid/177621/post/209611/hl//

--sd

Thanks for your quick reply. The thread helps with what I am going to do with the information eventually.

I see your point for entering the chemical name only once and I'll make those changes.