Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help Please

Clubracing

This topic is 6330 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi Folks, I am a newbie to the Forum and FMP. Find it more user friendly than Access :o . I have a very simple request for help (well I thnik so) I have managed to import to my database from excel all the membership info of my Club. I have designed a resonable layout, and have managed to place a couple of buttons, now this is where I am stumped. I wish to assign a script to one of the buttons for a [color:red]Surname search. ie click on button blank window pops up type in surname looking for, enter and it goes to first one found, also click other button to scroll through all other names matching the search criteria.

How do I do this please ?

Hi clubracing, welcome to FM Forums! :smile2:

You need to perform a Find. It provides a sub-set of records which match the find criteria and you will end up on the first record. To go to the next record, if a form layout, place 4 arrow buttons and right-click and Button Setup and select step: Go To Record/Request/Page [ First ] to the first button, etc. If it's a List layout, use your up/down scroll bars or put buttons in the header. Now to the Find script ...

The nice thing about another window is that a User can display two completely different found sets side by side (or even preserve a prior found set in another layout). And if the Find fails, it doesn't disturb the original set either. Attach the following script to your FIND button (on your form layout):o

[color:blue]

Set Variable [ $WindowName ; Get ( WindowName ) ]

Freeze Window

Allow User Abort [ Off ]

New Window [ ]

Commit Records/Requests

## If you wish to provide Users with a list which contains all the fields they may want to search, insert a [color:blue]Go To Layout [ that list layout ] here ...

[color:blue]Set Error Capture [ On ]