Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Amazon XML Difficulties, XSL Question

Jeff Hannes

This topic is 5572 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am attempting to write code to import information from Amazon via XML...I have some experience writing XSL code for FileMaker import (was able to do it with Yahoo Merchant Solutions), but I have hit a snag with Amazon I haven't been able to overcome.

Here's what I've got...First, a sample of the XML code returned by Amazon:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

True

B000KL8SZ8

B000KL8SZ8

Jakks

Toy

BIG SHOW DELUXE AGGRESSION 5 WWE JAKKS FIGURE

And here is the XSLT stylesheet I wrote to parse the information:

YES

ASIN

TEXT

As that code stands right now, I can't get it to work. However, if I remove a line of code from the XML, it works fine. Specifically, if I change

to

it works just fine. But if I leave the code as is, then it imports 0 records and is unable to parse the XML.

In the final solution I cannot make modifications to Amazon's XML output (ultimately the goal is to pull directly from Amazon without the in-between of working with a local file) so any changs I make MUST be to the stylesheet and not to the XML file.

Any clues as to what my problem is and how I can fix it?

The problem is that Amazon decided at some point to add its own namespace to the data returned. Originally they didn't, so it's thrown many for a loop. Amazon adds theirs here:

FileMaker does this with their data also; here:

A namespace attached to the root element automatically extends to all elements below, unless they are specifically assigned to another namespace themselves.

In order to parse FileMaker data for other apps, you often have to add its namespace, to the tag, define a prefix for it, usually "fm" or "fmp", then exclude it (like you tried to do with "xml").